Free Speech Resolution, May 4, 2017

The University of Montana endorses the University of Chicago's Statement on Principles of Free Expression <u>https://freeexpression.uchicago.edu/page/statement-principles-free-expression</u> and affirms their commitment to academic freedom and freedom of expression.

Submitted by Senator Linda Frey with endorsement from 20 Faculty (listed below) in accordance with Article II, D of the Faculty Senate

"Upon the written request of twenty members of the faculty, or on the written request of 10 members of the Senate, the Senate shall consider either at its regular meeting or in a special session the agenda item accompanying such a request." (Articles II D, part)

Signators:

Michael Harrigton	Michel Valentin
Kenton Swift	Deborah Slicer
Dave Beck	David Schuldberg
Amy Ratto-Parks	Samir Bitar
Mark Kayll	Sozaig Lebihan
Paul Dietrich	Ruth Vaia
Linda Frey	Brad Clough
Mehrdad Kia	Neyoozet Greymorning
G.G. Weix	Liz Ametsbichler
George Price	Katie Kane
Robert Greene	Rosalyn La Pier
Michael Mayer	Louise Economides
Hayden Ausland	Nathaniel Levtow
Maria Bustos	Sean O'Brien
Sandy Ross	Sue Bradford