Trustees | Free Speech

Murphy Introduces the Campus Free Speech Restoration Act


Washington, D.C. – Today, Congressman Greg Murphy, M.D. (NC-03) introduced the Campus Free Speech and Restoration Act. This bill is a response to the silencing of conservative voices across the nation.

Murphy’s legislation will require public and private universities to report First Amendment violations to the Department of Education and publicly share campus policies on free speech. Failure to do so would restrict Title IV funding.

“Students learn best when they’re taught how to learn, not what to learn,” said Murphy. “Unfortunately, many institutions teach diversity in all things except opinion. This bill would ensure that taxpayer dollars go to colleges that are doing their best to protect their students right to free speech.”

“The freedom to speak freely is a constitutional right and I will not sit by idly while conservative voices are silenced.”

“Intellectual diversity and the free exchange of ideas are the lifeblood of higher education and of a vibrant democracy,” said Dr. Michael Poliakoff, President of the American Council of Trustees and Alumni. “Colleges and universities best serve students and the public when they foster an environment that welcomes, not discourages, open and honest discussion of controversial subjects.  Public institutions, which Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 bars from illegal discrimination, must also observe the protections offered by the First Amendment.  Likewise, private institutions that receive federal funding bear a responsibility to honor the policies they establish consistent with their mission.”

The text of the bill can be found here.

The following are original co-sponsors of the bill: Congressman Jodey Arrington (TX-19), Congressman Brian Babin (TX-36), Congressman Jim Banks (IN-03), Congressman Ted Budd (NC-13), Congresswoman Kat Cammack (FL-03), Congressman Buddy Carter (GA-01), Congressman Scott Franklin (FL-15), Congressman Scott Fitzgerald (WI-05), Congressman Brian Fitzpatrick (PA-01), Congressman Glenn Grothman (WI-06), Congressman Ronny Jackson (TX-13), Congressman Jim Jordan (OH-04), Congressman John Joyce (PA-15), Congresswoman Julia Letlow (LA-05), Congressman Ralph Norman (SC-05), Congressman Tracey Mann (KS-01), Congresswoman Mariannette Miller-Meeks (IA-02), Congressman Burgess Owens (UT-04),  Congresswoman Elise Stefanik (NY-21), Congressman Greg Steube (FL-17), Congresswoman Claudia Tenney (NY-22), Congressman Tom Tiffany (WI-07)

The original press release posting can be found here.


Launched in 1995, we are the only organization that works with alumni, donors, trustees, and education leaders across the United States to support liberal arts education, uphold high academic standards, safeguard the free exchange of ideas on campus, and ensure that the next generation receives an intellectually rich, high-quality college education at an affordable price.

Discover More